Educator Awards

EVENT: Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra performance, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts

Click here to see the 2019 Educator Award recipients.

Since 1918, CIVIC MUSIC has promoted and recognized excellence in music education in our community. In keeping with our mission, we annually recognize individuals for their outstanding work in the field of music education.  We are pleased to host this celebration of educators in the month of March - - Music in Our Schools Month.  We are honored to continue our collaboration with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra on this project.

This year’s Music Educator Awardees will be publicly recognized at a Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra concert on March 30, 2019, at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, Milwaukee.  Do you have someone in mind that is deserving of one of these awards because of their dedication and contributions to area music programs? If so, please nominate them!

The awards are:

CERTIFICATES OF EXCELLENCE are given to outstanding teachers in any or all of the following categories. 

Instrumental Music Instruction
Choral Music Instruction
General Music Instruction
Studio Music Instruction
Youth Music Instruction

All music educator nominees will be considered for the MUSIC TEACHER OF THE YEAR Award, although this award is not necessarily presented annually. 

EDUCATIONAL ADMINISTRATOR OF THE YEAR:  This award honors educational administrators who have shown outstanding support for music education and teachers of music.  By applauding outstanding educational administrators, we encourage and draw attention to those lending important support for music education. 

MSO ACE TEACHER OF THE YEAR: This award honors grade level classroom teachers who demonstrate outstanding commitment to arts integration through the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra’s Arts in Community Education (ACE) program, and support music and the arts throughout their schools.

Congratulations to the 2018 Educator Award Recipients!
L-R: Jodi Rupnow, Peter Thomas, Brent Johnston, Emma Angoli, Thomas Spitz, Terry Little, Bernard Zinck, Mary Pat Michels